RSS Feed

Day 1: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s October 1st and officially time to make/ bake everything pumpkin! While enjoying a pumpkin spice latte a couple weeks ago I thought that I could use a challenge, something to keep up with on this blog. With pumpkin on my mind I decided to try out something I’ll call “31 Days of Pumpkin”. For the next 31 days I’ll be trying out different recipes involving pumpkin and attempting to make a few of my own. I’ll post the recipes I use and hopefully it’ll become a great resource for all things pumpkin! If you ever use one of the recipes, have ideas, or just have something to say feel free to leave comments!

Day 1: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

For the first day of this endeavor I decided to make a pumpkin twist on an old classic. Who doesn’t love a good chocolate chip cookie?! These cookies are ones that my mom and I have made for many years and they always come out great. The original source of this recipe is unknown as it’s one we have had in our kitchen for years so I’ve typed it up below.

 

1/2 cup of margarine

1 cup of sugar

3/4 cup of pumpkin

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups of flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

1. Cream margarine and sugar together.

2. Add pumpkin and eggs. Beat well

3. Mix all remaining ingredients in a separate bowl then add them to pumpkin mixture. Stir until blended

4. Drop batter by spoonfuls onto cookie sheet.

5. Bake for 15 minutes or until light brown.

 

A couple notes about this recipe:

Feel free to add or subtract amount of chocolate chips and I recommend using semi-sweet chips instead of milk chocolate.

The original recipe calls for walnuts and raisins instead of chocolate chips. Anyone who knows me knows that that’s not likely to happen in my kitchen but it could be an idea for yours!

The baking time may/will vary for different ovens. Mine is closer to ten minutes so be careful and watch the cookies.

Last but not least, a picture of these delicious cookies:

IMG_0141

About Kitchen261

An avid baker and experimental cook with a love for anything related to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

