RSS Feed

Italian Wedding Cake

Posted on

Yesterday was my parents anniversary and of course I used the occasion to bake them a cake! I could have made chocolate for my Mom and vanilla for my Dad, the kinds of cakes they prefer, but instead I made something completely different. I’d heard about Italian wedding cake before and didn’t know much about it so I took to the internet. I found a Sandra Lee recipe and decided to use that since it meant an easier recipe (semi-homemade).

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sandra-lee/italian-wedding-cake-recipe/index.html

I used this recipe but made a few minor changes. Instead of an 8inch round I used 9 inch rounds which meant I did not cut them in half but left it as a two layer cake. If you make this cake and want to make it four layers I suggest buying an extra can of frosting, even two layers was stretching it with only two cans.

The cake was delicious! I’m not a fan of pineapple but I have to admit that it wasn’t too bad in this cake, just gave it a fresh flavor. I topped the cake with some toasted coconut for added color.

IMG_0974

About Kitchen261

An avid baker and experimental cook with a love for anything related to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

