RSS Feed

A “Healthy” Cake

Another birthday was upon my group of friends this week with Jenn turning 22! Since we have some health nuts in the group I wanted to attempt a semi-healthy cake. I made a chocolate zucchini cake which was absolutely delicious! For having both zucchini and applesauce in it I was shocked that it still tasted like a delicious chocolate cake! Plus the zucchini helped the cake hold in a lot of moisture so it was perfect.

This is the recipe I used: http://www.momontimeout.com/2012/07/chocolate-zucchini-cake-recipe/?showComment=1341592181148.

I took the recipe from the website above and changed it a little to fit what I wanted to make. Instead of baking in a bundt pan I made 2 9inch rounds.  I also did not use that frosting but instead made my own. I really wanted a whipped chocolate frosting to layer the cakes with. This frosting put an end to my healthy cake attempts. 🙂

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

 

The birthday girl with her cake!

The recipe for the icing is as follows:

  • 2 sticks of softened butter
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa
  • 5 cups of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3-4 tablespoons of milk (depending on desired consistency)
  1. Beat butter and cocoa together until combined
  2. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time
  3. Add vanilla
  4. Add milk until desired consistency
About Kitchen261

An avid baker and experimental cook with a love for anything related to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

