RSS Feed

My Two Favorites

After venturing to the mall to get some Christmas shopping done I  came home today to bake. Instead of trying new recipes today I made my two favorite cookies. These two cookies have been my favorites for years and I wouldn’t have a Christmas without them.

The first cookie I made is called Orange Cream Chips. To be honest they don’t taste particularly orangey but they are fantastic! And if you don’t like orange flavored cookies you can easily change this to be another flavor by using lemon juice or any other juice instead. Here is the recipe:

  • 3 1/3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 1/2 ounces cream cheese (softened)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 teaspoons orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange rind
  • 1 package semisweet chocolate chips
  1. Beat shortening, sugar, and cream cheese in bowl.
  2. Beat in eggs one at a time
  3. Add juice and rind
  4. Blend in flour and salt
  5. Add chocolate chips
  6. Drop onto prepared sheets
  7. Bake at 350 for 12 minutes

I have learned over the years that my oven runs hot so by 11 minutes the cookies are done. To top these cookies I very highly suggest making an orange icing. Two cups of powdered sugar, 3 ounces of cream cheese, 1 teaspoon orange juice, and 1 teaspoon orange rind. If you ask me the cookies are naked with out the icing, it makes them that much better!!

My other favorite cookies are Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies. Be sure to note that I did not say Oatmeal Raisin…those are gross. It’s really simple to just add oatmeal to any chocolate chip cookie recipe or use a completely different recipe all together. Here my mom and I have a different recipe, slightly altered from the Chocolate Chip recipe on the back of chocolate chip packages. The recipe is as follows:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbspn milk
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 1/2 cups oatmeal
  • 1 package chocolate chips

Mix as you would an ordinary chocolate chip cookie recipe adding oats and chips last.

Since these cookies are still in the works in my kitchen I will include a picture of the Orange Cream Chips. They are naked currently but check back in a few days and they will all be iced! Let me know if anyone tries these recipes, tell me what you think!

Orange Cream Chips - uniced

 

About Kitchen261

An avid baker and experimental cook with a love for anything related to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

