RSS Feed

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

I might start by apologizing for not writing on here since September but school became my first priority. On the bright side the semester is over and the baking can begin again! Seeing as it is a week until Christmas Eve it’s the perfect time to start making Christmas cookies. As the days progress I will update with the cookies I’m making plus those my Mom makes. We have our traditional cookies that make an appearance every year and then those I decided to test out for the first time.

Today I made 3 new cookies. My intent was to make the batters and refrigerate them until another time but since I had the time, everything was baked. The first cookie was plain shortbread, simple and tasty. To make them festive I rolled the dough in  red, white and green sprinkles.

IMG_0536

The second cookie was Walnut Shortbread. The same recipe was used for both shortbreads but walnuts were added to the second. I find walnuts to be pretty tasty when added in baking so I figured the same would be true for this recipe.

IMG_0535

The above two cookies were made from the shortbread recipe on this website: http://householdways.blogspot.com/2011/12/refrigerator-icebox-cookies.html. This list of refrigerated cookies sparked my interest because it is often easier to split up the baking time especially with work and obligations to Christmas shows on TV! 🙂

The third cookie of the day was Peanut Butter Buttons. Take your ordinary peanut butter cookie recipe and simply change the presentation to make these cute buttons. For these I took the idea from one website and the recipe from another: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/peanut_butter_cookies/, http://www.bakerella.com/coraline-cookies/.

IMG_0534

I think my first day of baking went pretty well today. Of course a lot of baking is still to come, especially making our annual cookies. Stay tuned for more cookies and let me know what you’re baking for this season!

About Kitchen261

An avid baker and experimental cook with a love for anything related to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

