RSS Feed

Reese’s #1

Posted on

Raise your hand if you like Reese’s peanut butter cups. While I can’t see who raised their hands chances are most of you reading did. I’ve named this post “Reese’s #1” because it is going to be the first of many baked goods using these delicious candies. Not only do many of my friends love Reese’s cups but there are so many great recipes using them that I would love to try. So without further ado here is Reese’s #1:

Another birthday was upon me at work and the request my friend had was something chocolate mousse and possibly including peanut butter. I was a little perplexed as to how to combine these two flavors since they generally aren’t put together. I turned to a recipe book and made a delicious light chocolate mousse pie. This took care of the chocolate mousse part of the request but now onto covering the peanut butter part. Often mousse pies are topped with a whipped topping and I wanted to do just that. In order to make the topping different I mixed ordinary whipped topping (Cool Whip) with 2 tablespoons of peanut butter and chopped Reese’s cups. Here is a picture of that combination in action:

Cool Whip, 2 tablespoons peanut butter, and 16 chopped Reese’s cups

This method of changing Cool Whip was shockingly delicious; my mother who doesn’t even like Reese’s cups enjoyed it. I can see making this topping for various other desserts such as brownies or simply on ice cream.

Topping the pie with the whipped topping I added just a few more chopped peanut butter cups and there you have it. The pie was delicious and I’m so glad that everyone at work enjoyed it as well.

If you have any ideas for either an Olympic themed baked good or a Reese’s post let me know!

 

About Kitchen261

An avid baker and experimental cook with a love for anything related to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

